Announcing the Battle Maximus 10th Anniversary Edition

By GWAR Store

Announcing the Battle Maximus 10th Anniversary Edition

Ten years have passed since the release of GWAR’s masterwork known as “Battle Maximus.” The record is a tribute to fallen Scumdog Warrior Flattus Maximus (AKA Corey Smoot) and was the last album recorded with vocalist Oderus Urungus’ (AKA Dave Brockie) before he departed the planet Earth in 2014. In celebration of this momentous occasion (and to line their pockets with filthy lucre) GWAR are pleased to announce the release of this 10th Anniversary Edition of “Battle Maximus.”

In addition to being completely remixed and remastered, this edition features the final recorded vocal performance of Oderus Urungus on the previously unreleased and never-before heard song “Tammy, Queen of Dirt.” Along with the announcement the band has released the remastered/remixed version of “Falling.”  Listen to it HERE

10 years after its initial release, the wounds are just as fresh. The words that Oderus wrote as a tribute to his fallen Scumdog brother, Flattus Maximus, gain new meaning when heard as the final lyrics he would ever sing. The songs echo in stereo through the twin holes that were left in our hearts by the absence of Oderus and Flattus. This new remix of ‘Battle Maximus’ breathes new life into this album that demands to be considered as one of GWAR's greatest,” says guitarist BälSäc, the Jaws 'o Death

The Berserker Blothar adds, “ ‘Battle Maximus’ is an important GWAR album. Recorded as a farewell to guitarist Flattus Maximus, this album was born out of straight pain. As the Scumdog warriors grieved the passing of their brother, they had no way of knowing they were also recording the last album with singer Oderus Urungus. Battle Maximus then, is on the cusp of the greatest challenge of GWAR’s career. This version has been remixed and remastered and it sounds straight up viscous. I hope you relish it as much as I…

Available as a double LP, CD and in digital formats, “Battle Maximus” is set for release on September 1st via the band’s own Pit Records and is available for pre-order HERE. The double vinyl also features expanded packaging, redesigned art and an embossed cover. The standard LP is Crystal Blue with Dark Blue swirl vinyl, the Bandbox exclusive version is Stained Glass vinyl, Newbury Comics version is White with Blue swirl vinyl and Revolver Icons Series features multiple different colors all with NFTs to authenticate.

“Battle Maximus” Tracklisting:
1. Intro
2. Madness at the Core of Time
3. Bloodbath
4. Nothing Left Alive
5. They Swallowed the Sun
6. Torture
7. Raped at Birth
8. I, Bonesnapper
9. Mr. Perfect
10. Tammy, The Swine Queen*
11. Battle Maximus
12. Triumph of the Pig Children
13. Falling
14. Fly Now
15. Carry on Wayward Son
16. Wheel of Punishment

*Previously Unreleased Bonus Track